Two Kites

People will often say ‘I need to see it to believe it.’ I urge you to reverse this saying. Ultimately, what we believe is far more important than what we see. A perfect example is given here in another tale of the life of Paramhansa Yogananda.

Take from it what you will. But know that there are forces working at all times bringing into your life what your thoughts revolve around the most.

Our family moved to Lahore in the Pubjab. There I acquired a picture of the Divine Mother in the form of the Goddess Kali. It sanctified a small informal shrine on the balcony of our home. An unequivocal conviction came over me that fulfilment would crown any of my prayers uttered in that sacred spot. Standing there with Uma (Yoganandas sister) one day, I watched two kites flying over the roofs of the buildings on the opposite side of the very narrow lane.
“Why are you so quiet?” Uma pushed me playfully.
“I am just thinking how wonderful it is that Divine Mother gives me whatever I ask.”
“I suppose She would give you those two kites!” My sister laughed derisively.
“Why not?” I began silent prayers for their possession.
Matches are played in India with kites whose strings are covered with glue and ground glass. Each player attempts to sever the string of his opponent. A free kite sails over the roofs; there is great fun in catching it. Inasmuch as Uma and I were on the balcony, it seemed impossible that any loosed kite would come into our hands; its string would naturally dangle over the roofs.
The players across the lane Began their match. One string was cut; immediately the kite floated in my direction. It was stationary for a moment, through sudden abatement of breeze, which sufficed to firmly entangle the string with a cactus plant on top of the opposite house. A perfect loop was formed for my seizure. I handed the prize to Uma.
“It’s just an extraordinary accident, and not an answer to your prayer. If the other kite comes to you, then I shall believe.” Sisters dark eyes conveyed more amazement than her words.
I continued my prayers with a crescendo of intensity. A forcible tug by the other player resulted in the abrupt loss of his kite. It headed towards me, dancing in the wind. My helpful assistant, the cactus plant again secured the kite string on the necessary loop by which I could grasp it. I presented my second trophy to Uma.
“Indeed, Divine Mother listens to you! This is all too uncanny for me!” Sister bolted away like a frightened fawn.

20130212-083250.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Yogananda

2 responses to “Two Kites

  1. As an empiricist I always value observation, demonstration and experience over belief, however I am aware the universe has a magical aspect to it which is freed by the application of belief.

    • I agree Alex. I used to be absolutely closed minded. More to the point, I was unaware, uninterested in some of the phenomena of the universe, and therefore ignorant also.

      I shared this story because even Yogananda’s own sister would poke fun at him about his faith. Even when he gave her the evidence by giving her an experience, she still found it easier to run away that to accept it.

      Things can change over time as you are well aware. But only if you choose. I was once a healthy skeptic and can relate to anyone who disbelieves.

Leave a Reply

